Linked bidders have separate user records but share a bidder number and shopping cart so that all of their purchases can be paid for together.
For Gala bidding, both individuals use the same bidder number/paddle for all of their bids.
Online/Mobile bidding is handled similarly - both individuals share an Online Handle. They can each place bids, but all bids (and purchases) are recorded against their shared handle and placed in a shared shopping cart
Invitations to Self Check-in and Bid:
Emailed invitations to linked bidders with a shared email are handled the same as linked bidders with different email addresses.
Each bidder/guest will receive their own invitation - addressed specifically to them (by name) with a personal link to get started. Obviously, if they share an email, the same inbox will receive both invitations, but otherwise, the invitations function identically.
Their individual links will bring each to a shared screen/form, where they will be able to view their shared bidder info. In the case of Self Check-in, each will be able to check in him/herself and their partner.
Invitation to Bid:
The first person to start bidding chooses the Online Handle. When the second person activates the invitation link, they will see the chosen handle. They can edit it, which will change it for both and/or provide their own cell phone number to receive text outbid notifications (if enabled).
Since linked bidders are sharing an Online Handle, they are essentially bidding as one person - and all screenviews are identical:
- All of their bids will display under the chosen handle.
- They will share the same view of "My Bids" on the Home Page.
- Outbid notifications will display on the nav bar when either bidder has been outbid on an item.
There is one exception to linked guests being treated as a single bidder: if linked guests have separate emails and/or phone numbers, they will only receive email/text outbid notifications for the items they have personally bid on.
Invitation to Check-out:
Since linked couples share a shopping cart, their orders (as viewed from the Check-out screen, Orders page, and Self Check-out screen/message) will provide access to their shared purchases:
If linked guests want to bid independently, you can unlink them from the Tickets page. Select their Records > Bulk Actions > Unlink Guests.
If the guests have already checked in, you will need to undo check-in first, as shown at the end of this article.
Article is closed for comments.