There are 3 elements to closing-out your online/mobile auction:
1. Close Bidding: bidding will be halted precisely at the closing time specified for each item.
- Closing times can be viewed by using the Customize button on the Catalog datapage to add the column to your display.
- Closing times can be bulk edited from the catalog page, as needed.
2. Award Items to High Bidders:
- If you have enabled automatic closeout, items will be awarded (placed in winners' shopping carts) the next time the server refreshes (1-15 minutes).
- If you haven't, you'll need to enable it when ready, then save the setting change to award items to winners.
3. Notify Winners: how you to choose to notify winners depends on the type of event and personal preference:
- Online Auctions, where bidders are geographically dispersed, generally opt to "Send an email notification when an item is awarded". This automated process will send a separate email notification for each item.
- Gala events with mobile bidding most often disable the automatic notifications and instead opt to notify winners via a single invitation to self check-out. Invitations to self check-out can also be sent to winners that are not present at the gala.
Closing settings can be viewed and edited at: Admin > Site Settings > Online/Mobile Bidding > Bidding and Payment Settings. Important: the Default Closing Time specified on this page only applies to new items being entered. Closing times for existing items must be edited (individually, or bulk) from the Catalog page.
Mobile Display after closing:
Catalog Display after closing:
Note: When bidding closes, item banners will immediately display "Closed". "Item Won" does not display until the item has been awarded to the winner.